GHOST HOUSE

You aren't ready to do that yet, but you can blindly grab at the phone until you manage to pick it up.

YOU

...Hello?

VINCE

Hey! Uh- hey.

The voice on the other end makes your heart drop. You swallow, hard.

YOU

Hi.

VINCE

Did you get my text?

YOU

Your... text?

Blearily, you check your messages. You don't see anything new, especially not from him.

VINCE

...Oh. I sent it to your old number.

YOU

...

You aren't sure what to say. Your sleepy brain is still ungluing itself as he takes a deep breath and continues on with his sentence bravely.

VINCE

A-Anyways. Uh, I just wanted to say, um, it's... it-it's been a minute, and I- my grandpa died, and stuff-

YOU

Oh. I'm sorry to hear it.

VINCE

Right, yeah, well- he left me some family home, not too far north from Doodletown. I figured I should go check the place out, figure out what to do with it, bring along the old crew.

YOU

Okay. Uh, I hope it's fun.

VINCE

W-Well, you could come find out for yourself. If you want, I mean. I know we- Uh, things were... You're welcome to come if you want, is all. It'd be nice to see you again.

YOU

...Oh.

Your hesitation comes through on the phone. You hear him sigh, wearily, and something in you feels bad for it.

VINCE

You don't have to-

YOU

S-Sure. Yeah. Sure. Uh, I- what time?

VINCE

Oh?

He's surprised, and so are you.

VINCE

I'll text you the details. Sorry for calling you so early. I just- Uh, I dunno. Wanted to confirm.

YOU

Make sure you send them to this number.

VINCE

Hah, yeah. Sending them off now. I'll see you tomorrow, Mandy.

With that, Vince hangs up, and you confirm the notification for his text a few seconds later.

Your stomach churning, you roll back over to try to sleep some more. It doesn't come easy as you toss and turn, but somehow, mercifully, it does come.